Mono-Monday - "Fire"

It's tricky to represent Fire in monochrome. My Editor kindly suggested that I exploit an artwork done by son #2 over 10 years ago when he was working towards his Art exams at school. It's painted in thick paint to bring out the texture of the flames, on mdf board in a huge frame about 4 feet square; he always liked producing large artworks, his largest being on a 33-feet-long paper roll (!). I first blipped one of his large creations back in August last year, here.

I remember helping him to document this work, taking photos of a bonfire and using foil to photograph reflections from our coal-effect gas fire (my Editor blames that for the fact that the gas-fire inset had to be replaced soon after that episode!).

Please view large for best effect.

(We're still trying to work out where best to display this large artwork in the house; our son is still not settled enough to want to take it with him yet!)

For interest I'll upload a colour version on the "Extra photos" facility.

Many thanks indeed to notowennewitt for his excellent hosting of Mono-Monday this month, and his brilliant, challenging themes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.