Say Hello to My Little Friend

This is a bit of an unusual 'Cuties at the Dog Park' series entry. It seems that the Southern Toads (Anaxyrus (Bufo) terrestris) are mating. And I mean MATING in rather large numbers in and around the dog park ponds. I didn't realize what was happening until I saw both Tara and Maica fixated on something by the side of the small pond. And there they were... probably 10 or so Toady Couples locked in 'love's embrace'! The dogs chased the toads and I chased the dogs, finally succeeding in catching each voyeur pup and affixing leashes to drag them away from all that Toady Action. Not before I was able to snap a few iPhone shots...of course!  ;) Take a look at the 'Extra Photo' for a portrait of one of the lovely couples! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.