What would Granddad make of these?

Dad inspired today's blip. So many memories and we're the richer for them.

This is an email I got from Dad today with the subject, 'Your Granddad'.

"Caught up on your blips today. I remember Dad taking me fishing but can't remember where it was.

Equipment was basic, an old spark plug for a sinker, the line was green (so the fish couldn't see it he said), probably some sort of woven cotton hemp mixture and about as thick as pencil lead, wound on a stick.

Launching it into the water was an effort. He would swing the business end around his head like helicopter blades and let it go at the right moment. It either landed well out in the water or bounced off the light at  the end of the wharf.

During WW2 he was in National Military Reserve and not Home Guard. The former were in full military uniform and were full time servicemen for which he received two medals.

As a signaler he was on Mototapu Island in the Hauraki Gulf relaying whatever was seen out at sea. He learned Morse Code from radio broadcasts that were aired for just that purpose.

Home Guard were part timers, no uniform, wore an armband over civilian clothes that distinguished them. I think their job was traffic control and fighting fires from incendiary bombs, plus other duties.

Too many memories! When I went to New World this morning they were ripping up the car park for new extensions. I said to the check out lady it reminded me of WW2 when they dug up parks etc to make air raid shelters.

Dad".

I imagine Granddad would marvel at the collection of lures in my hand. The red teaser, frog pattern Tasmanian Devil, soft bait looking very much like a baby Rainbow Trout and the trolling lure with an electronic chip in it.

Perhaps he would shake his head in disbelief and tell me all I needed was a worm and hook. I reckon if I pulled out my Woolly Bugger feathered flies he'd just think I was being cheeky ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.