Sun track on Kawau Bay

First run at the beach for nearly two weeks. I woke at the usual time and decided to stay in bed; then woke a bit over an hour later, and went out to watch and photograph a lovely sunrise over Kawau Bay, seen from the beach house. I tried out the telephoto lens, and chose in the end to go back to the smaller lens so as to include Little Barrier Island.

I then meandered off an a gentle run (getting the obligatory photograph), and returned with the Saturday paper for breakfast, news and puzzles. Lovely sunny morning, and I sat on the deck and almost completed the Kropotkin cryptic crossword before lunch. Two unsolved clues.

26 across (9) A ball in Society back in 15. Answer 15 is stardust. The letters I have are I-S-I---R.

17 down (8) Composer producing Theme (Wagner's last). The letters I have are -E-S---R.

The second last gap of each answer is the same letter (light in the grid).

All suggestions gratefully accepted.

Afternoon spent shifting some redundant paving blocks out of the way, then taking the gardener to the plant shop to consider what to get for the new plantings we will have to do. Then back to open a bottle of ale and watch it overflow everywhere and lose at least a third, before sitting down to post my blip while S prepares me a nice dinner.

Thank you to all who wished me a good weekend. It has certainly started well, beer aside!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.