Lines of clouds

And also in the water.

This week the challenge word is line. I can't put up the link yet, as its still early on Sunday morning in the UK, and the link has yet to be posted. Never mind; I can add it later.

The chicken pasta last night was great, and S' brother joined us. So it was a pleasant and restful evening. This morning the internal clock woke me as usual; again I decided to wait for daylight before heading out along the Snells Beach waterfront (on Erceg's Way).

I'm not particularly fussed about most birds, so this list is likely to be incomplete in terms of the birdlife passed during the run. I heard the tui from the outset, and saw them intermittently almost throughout. Blackbirds and thrushes were around. When I got down to the waterfront, the first birds I saw were the common duck, in quite large numbers. I thought that I heard some putangitangi (Paradise shelduck). They were too far away to see.

Further along the gulls were waking up and making a huge fuss. Red bills, black bills and black backs. Young and mature. No aerial bombardment fortunately. Terns. Then a putangitangi pair at the northern end of the beach on the grass by the houses.

Up the hill to head back home along the ridge top road, and three grey heron in a field. A pheasant took flight as I approached, and what looked very like a kingfisher, which scarpered before I was close enough to see clearly. Mynas and magpies finished the collection; or exhausted my skills at identifying and also my knowledge of names.

Instead of any of my not very good attempts at photographing the birdlife, I've chosen this quiet and restful shot of the clouds above Kawau Bay, with lines of different colour in the water due to different depths, and also some of the light through the clouds being in bands/lines.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.