Scoot Coot!

I went for a walk at Fishers Green this evening for the first time since before Easter. The wind was whipping up Seventy Acres Lake when I arrived and the gulls were squabbling. I didn't see any terns but the board in the Bittern Hide told me that they have arrived.

The other summer visitors have too. I heard all sorts of warblers but didn't manage to capture any. It's very difficult now that the leaves have unfurled.

As the evening progressed the wind dropped. I spotted a great crested grebe on its nest. When it saw me it slipped into the water revealing two eggs. It stayed close. A coot appeared and started to Pip! Pip! Pip! I don't know whether coots will take birds' eggs but I know that they will snaffle chicks. The grebe wasn't happy. When the coot got too near it shouted at it.

The greylags have goslings. So difficult not to post those fluffy balls of cuteness. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.