This Crab Spider Was Nebulous Until ....

I have a crab spider spot on my walk around the property with Jazzy dog. I'm not arachnophobic but the hairs go up on the back of my neck when I think about the spider's lair where I first shot one with my macro lens.

These spiders have a threatening open-armed stance, ready to ambush their prey with a hug and the kiss of death. They don't build webs but do produce silk to dangle themselves out of trouble.

Today I found my first of the season on the newly unfolded leaves of field maple, in the same spot as I had done years ago. It had changed from white to match the gorgeous limey-yellow. I immediately thought of Kate and William's wedding. They had field maple trees to decorate the Abbey. It's their anniversary tomorrow.

To humans this colour change appears to be camouflage for the spider but insects see things differently, it actually attracts them to where their enemy is.

I thought I had my Blip shot in the bag. A dreamy sort of limey image with an indistinct, camouflaged, nebulous spider lurking.

As I was shooting it suddenly decided to leave its leafy haven and walk towards me on the bright pink maple shoot, its cover blown. It gave me quite a shock to meet it eye-to-eye down the lens. :)





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.