WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Blinded by the light

Finding a blip was tricky today. Work all morning, but I thought I would have time to take photos on the way to a meeting in the afternoon. Unfortunately an hour-long phone conversation with a client put paid to that; putting the phone down, I headed straight out of the door and arrived just in time. Leaving this meeting on the way home for the next appointment at 7 pm, I thought I had a 10-minute window to stop and take photos. However the whole of the centre of Olonzac had been dug up, and the badly signposted diversion sent me on a fruitless tour of the Minervois countryside. Once it had sent me 10 km in the wrong direction with no sign of relief, I gave up. I pulled into a track by the side of the road, narrowly avoiding an oncoming tractor, and got out with the camera.  The sun was so dazzling I couldn't see what I was pointing it at, so I did three random clicks and decided there was no time for more.

Got back in the car, drove back to Olonzac, still couldn't find a viable route around the blockage, and I was definitely going to be late for the meeting. In the end, since the earthmovers had gone home, I dived down a back street, dodged some "Road Closed" barriers, and bumped my way through the roadworks back to about 100 metres from where I'd started. It had taken me half an hour to get this far.

The meeting I was late for was about an art event we are organising for this summer ... watch this space! I was just in time for the aperos, so it wasn't all bad.

Oh, the blip -- it's the third of my three random clicks and more or less SOOC.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.