Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

A Tale of Two Kitties...

Okay, I have to give credit to dfb24 for the idea for this title.  I thought it was pretty clever!

In the latest installment... late yesterday, Phoebe marched into Charlie's "room" and proceeded to eat his kibbles and then she went in his litter box.  Poor Charlie - he was willing to sit and sullenly watch her eat his food, but when she went into his own private loo, that was just too much and he leapt off the bed, prepared to do battle.  Which is when I stepped in.  Phoebe exited the box, shaking her little paws and marched out of the room, tail in the air.  However, lest you think Charlie was willing to let things go...later, just as hubs and I were drifting off to sleep, Charlie entered the Lair of the Queen (under our bed) where a hellish series of noises developed.  Eventually, Charlie ran back to his room and under his own bed.  We then locked Phoebe in with us for the night - seemed the only way to guarantee sleep.

Charlie seems to be a nocturnal creature, happy to nap all day, but ready to come out and explore as the sun goes down.  Phoebe, on the other hand is pretty happy to nap all day AND all night.  I made this silly little collage (you can tell collages aren't my strong suit) with two shots taken with my macro lens on the D90.  

I went to Paulinskill WMA again today, having heard that the Yellow Warblers were returning.  Indeed, they are back and I was serenaded for most of my 3 mile walk by their cheery song.  They are beautiful little creatures and if you've not seen one, I've posted one shot HERE on Flickr  Had to crop the heck out of it, so it's not a great shot, but I'll have plenty of time over the next few months to get better ones.  I also saw a Black-crowned Night Heron which is considered a Rarity here.  I had gotten so used to seeing them in Florida that it didn't register at first that I was seeing something that usually isn't seen this far north in NJ.  

And in other news, I think P-Hummie is back!  Last night hubs and I saw a male ruby-throated hummer at the feeder and I saw him again today.  If things roll out true to form, we should see a second male one day soon and then the first females in about 10 days.   Oh, how I love my summer hummingbirds!

Happy Hump Day, people.

Seasonal Notes:  Hubs and I ate dinner on the deck tonight (first time this season) and had a hummer visiting the feeder about every 10 minutes while we were out.  I think this marks the return of P-Hummie.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.