Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

It all started 7 years ago...

On April 30, 2008, I had a craniotomy to remove a brain tumor.  Although I didn't know it at the time, it marked the beginning of a new chapter in my life and a return to photography, something I'd loved but drifted away from over the years.  In that first summer, as I was recovering from a pretty intense surgery, I spent many hours sitting quietly on our patio, watching the hummers come and go.  In some indefinable way, they brought me a measure of peace at a time when my life felt completely upside down.

It wasn't until the following year that Hubs convinced me to take up photography again, with a brand new digital camera.  That summer, I took so many hummingbird photos and while those initial attempts were pretty awful, I found that I enjoyed trying to photograph these speedy little birds.  I kept at it for the following couple of summers, adding other birds to my photo agenda in the winter months.  

In 2011, a fellow brain tumor survivor friend told me about Blipfoto and suggested I give it a go.  Well, the rest is kind of history, isn't it?  I have become truly passionate about all kinds of nature photography, but the hummingbirds remain my first love.  And photography has become a daily activity, one I truly enjoy.

Each spring, I await the return of the hummers.  This past Saturday, I saw my first flash of red at the feeder ... but somehow I knew it wasn't "my" hummer.  However, two nights ago, as Hubs and I were standing at the door to the deck, a beautiful male flew up and I turned to Hubs and said "that's our P-Hummie - he's back."  Today, two males have been making runs on the feeders.  And, judging from the yellow pollen on this one's beak, they are also finding some natural nectar sources.  Hopefully they will both stay, and will soon be followed by the females.  

I always take time to reflect on this date - so much in my life has changed since that day in 2008.  So many things I didn't expect, and so many GOOD things, too.  

I think I'll make a nice chopped salad for dinner tonight, with some grilled shrimp and some NZ Savignon blanc,  Instead, I think I'll have Hubs take me out for dinner, and toast life.  

If you'd like to see four other shots from today, click HERE on Flickr

Take care...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.