Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Another hummer...

I didn't intend to do this today, but when this female ruby-throat showed up (way ahead of schedule) I had to go with her.  In looking back at my notes from previous years, this is the earliest I've ever had a female show up, by at least a week.  Usually they are 7-10 days behind in the males in the migration.  So, when she flew in this afternoon and proceeded to have a very long drink from the feeder, I was totally shocked.  She came back several times, when I was a bit more prepared, allowing me to get off a couple of shots.  Interesting that her neck appears yellow which must be pollen.  Not something I've seen before.  

While she was on the feeder, P-Hummie flew up and checked her out before zipping back off into the trees again.  Apparently, she met with his approval since there was no chattering or chasing.

I've put another shot of P-Hummie in the Extras, at right.

I had a lovely walk this morning on another of my favorite trails and saw my first -of-season Prairie Warbler (which would have been my blip if the female hummer hadn't shown up) as well as a yellow-throated vireo.  I also spent about 15 very enjoyable minutes watching a tiny pair of gnatcatchers put the finishing touches on their nest, high up in a tree.  Once that tree leafs out, you'll never be able to know there is a nest there.  They were using bits of lichen and what appeared to be spider webs - very clever.  

Back here at home, in addition to the hummer, I saw my first Gray Catbird of the summer in the yard.  I love them and hope that they will nest in the yard again this year.  

Meanwhile, in the continuing Tale of Two Kitties...the two continue to spat, especially at night when Charlie is at his most active.  Once again last night, I had to separate them.  I do feel that we are making progress because we can get them to play within eyesight of each other without any hissing or growling.  But Phoebe is definitely being possessive about the house and doesn't like Charlie prowling about too much.  I am determined, however, to get them to a point of at least civil tolerance!

Thank you for the many kind words yesterday.  It may seems a strange thing to celebrate, but it really was life-changing for me in so many ways.  It serves as a good reminder that life is sweet and we should enjoy every bit of it.  

Happy Friday.

Debbi  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.