pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Pier of the Year 2015

So many things to blip about today.
Henry and I are getting good at sleeping in a bit too long! We rushed about this morning and still got out on time though.

I had an interesting day at the Norfolk Pension Fund Retired Members Forum at the Holiday Inn. I was there as part of the Pensions Payroll Team, and although I've only been in post 2 weeks 4 days, I managed to answer the tax and related queries. The forum has been put on for retired local government employees for the past 12 years. It was one of 4 sessions, with contributors from all around Norfolk, talks, stands, freebies & free tea, coffee, & lunch! It was clearly a social occasion for many of those who attended. Possibly in some cases the highlight of their year!

Because of this, I was home by 3pm. This gave me time to take all my paperwork to the local GP surgery to get us registered.

Then we headed for the sea, as unlike Cambridge, we had a bright blue sky! A stroll along the pier. We had planned a geocache but it was high tide, and not accessible apparently. Henry loves it in Norfolk. He says it most days! So, perhaps all this did happen to us for a reason. I think he may be a little Norfolkian at heart. We then had chips for tea. I know - bad mother! But as Mollie says OLLI (one life live it)

I was thinking, and I'm going on again I know, so maybe I've lost some of you at this point, but I spent my first 24 years in Hertfordshire, followed by 25 years in Cambridgeshire. That must mean the next 26 are set to be spent in Norfolk. Well, I'm not complaining!

Home, and I cut the grass, attacked the blasted ground elder again (unsuccessfully), planted a few flowers.

Only one more day and we will be joined by Jon and Mollie.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.