Lincoln Cathedral, from Lincoln Castle

We have had a really full day exploring all the touristy bits of Lincoln. I did spend quite a long time last night reading through various booklets I picked up in the tourist information, so we set out this morning with a plan.

After a lie in and a big breakfast, we walked through the city and retraced our steps from last night which took us up Steep Hill to the castle. It was fairly sunny, and we arrived as the castle opened at 10. There was a special medieval event on all weekend which was a bonus, but what we really wanted to see was the Magna Carta. Our tickets gave us access to this very new exhibition, guarded and in a darkened specially built vault. I love history now, yet at school I scraped a 'c' at history o level. I love all periods of our British past, and so the Magna Carta 1215 and the Victorian prison, complete with live prisoners and fully kitted out cells ticked my box. We took a walk around the walls which gave amazing views of Lincoln, and in particular the cathedral. I took loads of photos. Finishing with lunch by a tent with medieval musicians we left, and then the heavens opened! I stole Jons woolly hat (he had a hood on his jacket) & we dodged the rain, going down the hill to the town. There we dipped in and out of regular shops where I bought a history magazine.

We ended the evening with a curry back in the cathedral quarter. I persuaded Jon that we couldn't do that walk again, so we drove up and parked next to the castle. The area was buzzing with people; a really good atmosphere. We plan to return later in the year to take Henry to see the castle. I think its his kind of place, and our tickets allow a return visit within 6 months.

Home tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.