Back home and a productive day

Up at a bit after 8, not much of a lie in for a Sunday, we went downstairs for a leisurely breakfast before checking out of the hotel at about 10. 

Our plans were to head home. We had seen a lot of Lincoln, but were looking forward to getting home, especially as the sun was out.

We arrived home at a little after 1, and were greeted by Henry and a nice hug. We had lunch in the garden, and discussed our plans to put up the chicken fence tomorrow.  With such lovely weather we decided to get on and start the garden jobs today. I weeded, Jon cut the grass, Henry sanded down the garden table. Then Jon & Henry built the fence. While I was out collecting Mollie from work, they finished the fence and put on a gate. Henry was keen to show us when we got back. I am so pleased with it - it is just like 'The Good Life' now! 

I have a bit more weeding of those horrible little celandine weeds that have the tiny bulby bits on the root. They are all over my onions. Then I want to plant my mange tout between the onions. I have so little space for vegetables in this garden, I figured that was the best way. Still got to work out where courgettes will go!

The chickens have given up on the eggs, their broodiness is wearing off now, but as they didn't seem to know what they should be doing, perhaps it's a good thing. Several eggs had disappeared anyway, - rats maybe? Or the hens have eaten them. I've had chickens do that before. The rest were stone cold, and all had been pushed out of the nest at some point or another.

The weekend away was lovely. But I'm looking forward to a lie in, in my own bed tomorrow, and a day in my own home. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.