Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Zip-ass-ster!!!!

Three and a half hours.
Two hundred ten minutes.
Twelve thousand, six hundred seconds.

That's how long I sat outside this morning stalking hummingbirds.  Namely, one individual bird who hogs my back yard.

Zippy.

And what did he give me for my time?  His little, fat ass.
Over and over.  I must have had ten shots just like this..
(I gave you an extra one to prove I'm not kidding.)
Not once  did I get a shot of him flying in from the side.  

I had my tripod set up focused on one feeder.  I was ready...thumb pressed down on the shutter release button while staring at the feeder, using my peripheral vision watching for anything entering the airspace heading towards it.  

A variety of birds other than the finches  passed through today.  But I was determined to get a clear, focused shot of the Zipster, no matter how long it took.

Well, damn, he outlasted me.  I got sunburned and all sweaty, not to mention I felt dehydrated because I ran out of water by 8 am and didn't want to go in and miss an opportunity.

Here's a tip for anyone stalking their photographic prey:
When you have to become a statue, that doesn't apply to your eyelids.
Blink
every now and then. 
You won't miss much...
(unless you're hunting a hummingbird.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.