Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Jubilee concert rehearsal

Tonight there's a sold-out Diamond Jubilee concert in Winchester Cathedral being given by the Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra under Owain Arwel Hughes. Most of the music is from the Queen's coronation and as I was passing late this afternoon I could hear them rehearsing Walton's Crown Imperial, so I decided to go in for a look-see. It was fabulous and a few people were sitting down enjoying the music, so I did too - and blipped!

This lovely lady is (I'm pretty sure) the first violin. By the time I got this shot the mood had softened and they'd moved on to Butterworth's On the Banks of Green Willow. Really, I could have stayed there for ever, but - yuk - things to do.

Earlier we'd had a lunch for my aunt whose birthday it is today and tonight I'm going to treat myself by NOT going to the celebrations at the Guildhall. I think I'll save supporting local bands for another day. How about you guys? Going well?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.