The Thumbs

This morning saw a fine start to the day, so before breakfast I decided to head up the Rangitata Gorge to take some shots.

Stopping  at Coal Hill, just before you descend down to the valley floor from Waikari Hills, the view to the Two Thumb Range at the end of the valley, beyond Mesopotamia, was spectacular.

This is a view to the peaks of two and a half thousand metre peaks of  The Thumbs,  Mts Myrmidon, Achilles and Alma. I'm not sure what the peak is in the far distance, but I have a feeling it might be Mt D'Archiac, some 10km away on the Main Divide.

This shot is an 8 frame panorama, shot with my 400mm lens. And yes, I did forget to change the EXIF preset from 8mm on the Fuji. Again. If you look on the map, you'll get an idea just how far away I am from the peaks!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.