Gentle Giants

Dear Diary,

A farm down the road from me raises pulling oxen.  They are the most gentlest of creatures.  Some Mainers still use oxen for work on the land but most simply keep them to show at the fairs.

When I was working on my First Person Rural  photographic project a few years ago I photographed the farmer and his ox at this farm.  I've added it as my extra photograph today.  I think it really shows the love he has for these gentle giants.  That image was more documentary in nature while this one I used a painterly technique. I use to paint, years ago.  I actually ran a private painting studio for 20 years teaching painting to adults.  I think I may try picking up the brush again this summer.

Rural life is a unique way of living and it, in its pure form at least, is fast disappearing in my area of Maine.  I suppose it is inevitable but sad.  Still, some hold onto the old ways and I am so pleased to see the number of small scale farms emerging here and there, many of which are run by women.

It is only in the country that we can get to know a person or a book.  ~Cyril Connolly, The Unquiet Grave, 1945

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.