Rain Drops on Pansies

Dear Diary,

We got a good soaking rain yesterday which I am very thankful for.  It will minimize the fire risk, at least for awhile.  It also provided me with this morning's photograph as it left lovely raindrops on the newly planted pansies in the railing boxes.  There are two subjects that have always drawn my eye, water reflections and rain drops.  I particularly like the way these droplets lined up along the edge of the turned petal.

The wild turkeys left soft lines in the grass this morning as they emerged from the woods to patrol the field for bugs.  A sure sign that the grass will need mowing very soon.  There are four seasons in New England; some call them spring, summer, fall and winter.  I call them planting, mowing, raking and shoveling!  I am fortunate to have help with all four since it can quickly overwhelm you.

It was a quiet foggy morning when I got up.  Our temperatures must be rising a bit.  I don't have to look at the thermometer to tell.  The landscape tells me by subtle clues.  When you live in close relationship to the land, even a small close-by land, you get to know her ins and outs and she has so much to tell us if we take the time to listen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.