Reflections on a Junk Drawer

Dear Diary,

We had a junk drawer when I was growing up, to the left of the kitchen sink.  In it you would find all sorts of interesting things, pieces of string wound into a ball, elastics that my grandmother carefully added to its own little ball and even the odd screw driver or solitary nail.  I loved poking around in it as a child.  You never knew what you would find.

I have a junk drawer in my kitchen now too, just to the left of sink, where you can find a cork or two, twisties from bread wrappers, elastic bands from bunches of broccoli and even a chop stick.  I think of the humble junk drawer as a kind of metaphor for the odd bits and pieces of ones life that don't seem to fit into any particular place but which still need saving.

I am attending a retreat for SoulCollage this weekend entitled, "Making the Pieces Fit".  In it we will explore these odd pieces and see where they actually fit into our lives.  I suppose the workshop made me think of the junk drawer and the junk drawer made me think of my childhood where a bit of string had all sorts of possibilities and all it took was an imagination to make "something from nothing" which is really what I do with my collages.  See...it ALL fits!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.