Philomena shows off her new feeding bowls....

Dear Diary,

Philomena is demanding equal time!  With all the "ooing and ahing" over Rudy and Gaylord's double portrait in the teacup, Philly thought it was only fair I showcase her.  Of course, I agreed.  I picked up this feeder at the town dump.  Someone else no longer had need of what I think was a dog bowl holder and I thought it would be just right for my furry little friends.  What I've used in the past was nice but they always managed to knock it over, spill seeds into the water and make a general mess of it all.  This is just right and keeps things tidy.

I do love re-purposing things.  The deck and roof in the new studio garden was all made with re-used lumber from the other decks we tore off.  The small fence for the new meditation garden will use old wood too.  It isn't just a matter of saving money, which is always nice to do, but keeping things out of the landfills.

My little barn was built with salvage wood back in the 1850's.  You can see the notches cut in the rafters.  Someone was taking down an old structure and the owner of my house thought they would be just right for his new barn!  Recycling is an old tradition in New England it seems!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.