Tea Time on the Porch

Dear Diary,

The new side board for the porch came the other day and now it is set up, ready for tea time!  My mother's Blue Willow tea pot sits on top.  She loved the blue willow pattern.  Later, I learned about the story the pattern depicts; a Chinese version of Romeo and Juliet.  That ties in nicely with my post the other day about West Side Story but, unfortunately, the story was concocted in England to help sell the pottery and has no connection with China. I suppose the idea of star crossed lovers is a universal one so the firm thought it would appeal to the romantic Victorian mind.  Still, it is fun to see how the story is interpreted in the pattern.  There was even a silent film based on the story done in 1914.

We are in a cool and rainy mode now and so there won't be any tea taking on the porch until things warm up again I'm afraid but the last of the forsythia look so pretty next to the blue that I just wanted to record it here in the journal.  A friend, looking through one of my printed and bound journals, asked why I photographed parts of my house for it.  I told her that some day I may not be here, who knows what the future will bring, and I want to remember all the parts of my house that brought me joy.  The porch is certainly one part that brings both Emerson and I great happiness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.