Celebrating May Day

Dear Diary,

To celebrate May Day, which is Beltane and the first day of summer in the Celtic calendar, my friend Rebecca and I went to one of my favorite nurseries to make a living pansy wreath.  This is mine which is made with violas and alyssum.  It has to lie flat for a week for the roots to take hold before I hang it on the Farmer's porch.  I also had the railing baskets planted with more Pansies, alyssum and dusty millers which, when they fill in, will be quite lovely I think.  It felt good to dig in the soil and plant something! 

David work hard all day yesterday to finish all the painting and that is relief since it looks like an off and on rainy week ahead but we do need the rain.  It has been terribly dry and a couple small, thank goodness, wild fires have broken out in the area.  We here in western Maine are particular sensitive to fire since back in 1947 a large part of this area burned in a horrible fire.  The town of Brownfield up the road was essentially eliminated...everything burned.  My house was spared as the wind shifted at the last minute and the fire went in a different direction. My friend Dotty's husband fought the fire as did every able bodied person.  Anyone interested can read about it in this link:  The Week that Maine Burned.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.