Welcoming May

Dear Diary,

May Day is also known as Beltane in the Celtic calendar.  The first day of summer as well.  Back in the day, children made May baskets to hang on neighbors doors and there was the dance around the Maypole and an evening bonfire.  Somehow this year it seems appropriate to celebrate this day after our long and arduous winter.

I won't be doing much celebrating however.  Unfortunately, I am feeling quite under the weather.  I'll be lucky to drag myself off the couch today!  Still, there is some good news.  I was able to find a man to custom cut timbers for the repairs to the pergola and at a very reasonable price.  Also, a woman stopped by who, along with her husband, did the lion share of the house renovations 10+ years ago.  They've moved back and she's going to help me with some spring chores.

So, despite my physical woes I feel very grateful.  I think I might work on the story line for A Friend for Beulah today!  Thanks for all your encouragement yesterday!

"It is well that a man should know his own work.  The only reason I know myself is because I am myself."   - Cadfael

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.