Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

It takes two to Tango.....

Well that's it. I'm all 'Romed out'. We got up very early this morning to go and see St Peters in the Vatican; we were there for 8.00am to avoid the queues so got in and out by 9.00am. Being a Sunday there were various services going on, but it didn't stop us seeing what we wanted to see. Truly magnificent, but at the back of my mind I can't help thinking there's something slightly obscene about such a show of wealth and power when there are beggars on the streets. We then took the metro over to the Colosseum where we went in to see the Palatine and the Forum. On the first Sunday of the month everything is free to get in, which saved us a bit but meant everywhere was packed with people; it probably would have been anyway. On the way past the Forum we saw these two dancing the Argentine Tango, part of a charity fundraising effort. There was one museum W wanted to go and see, the Capitaline, but I'd had enough so I've left her to it and come back to the apartment. We're eating out tonight at a restaurant we've been to before and really liked, one which was recommended by a friend, and then we fly home tomorrow.

It's been a wonderful two weeks. The first week with the archaeological tour just could not be faulted; everything about it was superb. The second week in Rome hasn't been as relaxing as we planned but it's been good. I've loved the sights we've seen, the food, the apartment; I won't miss the constant hassle from street vendors thrusting selfie sticks, hats and sundry other tat in our faces, or the accordion players who play tunes badly while you're having lunch and then want payment. And I won't miss the constant threat of pickpockets (this morning W even got punched on the arm on the metro by one who was clearly frustrated she couldn't get her hand in her bag!). Would I have missed it? Not in a thousand years. Will we come back? Probably not.

Thanks to everyone for all the comments, stars and faves on my Blips over the last couple of weeks and once again, apologies for not responding or looking at your Blips - there just hasn't been time. Once I get home I will get back to normal commenting and try and look back on entries over the last couple of weeks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.