SilverImages

By SilverImages

Salisbury Cathedral

'The Gothic cathedral is a blossoming in stone subdued by the insatiable demand of harmony in man.'
Ralph Waldo Emerson


Our all too brief holiday came to an end today, a really enjoyable week amongst the beautiful trees at Longleat.  Weather forecast not too promising so we'd planned to head straight home.  Fortunately Nature had other plans and it stayed dry and warm for us, so we headed off to Salisbury for the day. 
Back in the mists of time I studied the history of Architecture at school, and of course Salisbury was held as one of the finest examples of Early English.  If you like this sort of thing - which I do - then I'd recommend a visit, it's an inspiring place.  Certainly one of the most interesting cathedrals I've visited, and a great place for a Meditation.  Needless to say K wandered off while I switched off, amazing how quickly we found each other again when I came to and realised it was time for lunch. 
Glad we got the Park and Ride from nearby Wilton, convenient and easy which made for a stress free day, cheaper than parking in town too. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.