Anni Mamundi

By An1ma

Spotty...

... Owing to the sticky-out-feather, this blackbird is easily recognisable in the garden. We have a wood pigeon with a sticky-out head feather too. He's known as 'Tufty'.(We are sadly unimaginative at bird-naming, clearly).

I feel very fond of them both.
I felt the sticky-out feather on Tufty was an endearing kind of eccentricity on his part, but a close-up photo showed a (more sad) injury as a reason for his ruffled appearance. I haven't looked too closely at Spotty, fearing a similar thing. It's a tough world out there for them.
They are two survivors.

The last time I blipped a blackbird, only minutes after my blip, a juvenile blackbird flew into the very window I'd been saying was so pleasant to sit beside, for bird-watching..  I dashed out, all Sister Dora, hoping that I wouldn't have to put it out of misery (I dread that, and have never had to perform the sad act). The poor stunned creature lay cold on the patio. I lifted it and held it in the warmth of my hands (willing it to 'come to'). It seemed to warm up, and we walked to the bottom of the garden, where I put it down under a sunlit bush and went to fetch it water (why??). When I arrived back it had gone, so I'm going to assume it was ok.
It's probably acquired a few ruffled war-wound feathers too.
It quite took the shine off my selfish bird/enjoyment/blip...

My image today isn't terribly 'exciting'.
As I logged on to Blip I could see a selection of fabulous bird captures; babies and 'in-flight' rarities.
But then, I thought about the simple pleasure of sitting at the patio table, steaming cup of tea at my side, camera in hand (still, happily, much in the way of left-overs in the fridge). Birdsong loud and varied, and I thought, 'marks out of ten for this humdrum day' ??

Ten.
No doubt whatsoever :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.