Neighbourly Visit

Today was a perfect Bank Holiday!  After the cold and grey of the last few days, I was surprised at the blue sky when I woke up this morning, so I headed down to the lake again for my early morning 'cuppa!  Very beautiful and tranquil.  (See my 'Extra Photo')

The rest of the day was spent in the garden - I painted some of my furniture and repotted my geraniums which had been in the summer house over the winter.  A friend popped round and brought me strawberries and we had tea and cake on my swing.  After a bit more work, I decided to take another late afternoon break with a cup of tea at the front of the house.  

Last year I had a little bit of landscaping done at the front which included a garden bench near my front door.  I wanted a place to enjoy the afternoon and evening sun and to watch the world go by.  My gardener thought I was nuts - "We don't sit out at the FRONT of our houses in England!" (In other words - you Americans are a bit crazy!).  But I love it!  It's the next best thing to an American Front Porch (which is on my dream house).  I live at the end of a quiet culdesac and we all overlook a very pretty roundabout.  I've told my neighbours that if they see me sitting out there they are more than welcome to join me.  A few days ago I had 4 neighbours come over one by one and we had an impromptu 'tea in the garden party'.  This afternoon my lovely neighbour Joseph and his older sister Sophie came over to visit.  Sophie was kind enough to take this picture with my phone (a very rare blip of me!)  Needless to say, Dolly loves to be in the centre of any garden party!  

Previous blips of Joseph and Sophie, here and here.

So, garden bench at the front of a house - what do you think?  A good idea or crazy?  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.