Yesterday A Dog, Today A Dogfight!

I read on Twitter this morning that a WW1 film was being shot at Stow Maries Aerodrome so decided to go and check it out. I asked the owner if I could take pics and he said he would introduce me to the film director who said it would be fine to take pics of the planes and of him but not to post anything else for a while.

A vintage car meet was taking place and a beautiful old Sunbeam got, at short notice, to be in the film. I had an interesting chat with two women who were piloting drones for the filming. Not the 'toys' one has got used to seeing but very substantial and fitted with Canon DSLRs on gimbals.

There's a lot of hanging about on a film set but it was quite exciting when the woman with the clapper board came out and the director shouted, "Action" and then, "Cut." It was even more exciting when the JunkersCL-1 and the Sopwith Triplane took off and simulated a dogfight. I managed one pic with the two of them and a drone in the same frame.

The Indie film crew had approached a random plane owner who had flown in that morning and asked if he would take them up in his Robin to get some shots over the water. He agreed as long as he gets a mention in the credits. I kept his wife company while they were filming.

Talking amongst ourselves we pooled snippets of information. We think the film is entitled Survivor and is a drama featuring the director's grandfather. They have filmed in the local pub and at Burnham-on-Crouch. Hope I get to see the finished article. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.