Love In The Afternoon

I shot an orange tip first thing this morning, female, no tips. This early success made me think it was going to be a butterfly day. I didn't do too badly. I captured a pair of green-veined whites mating but they were on sheep's parsley which made for a distracting background. I wasn't able to get my first speckled wood of the season at a pleasing angle. The male brimstones and male orange tips had one thing on their minds and didn't settle. My comma was snatched from directly above, I try not to shoot insects like that.

I am pleased with this pair of green nettle weevils making love in the afternoon in their grassy boudoir. The grass makes a much less 'busy' backdrop than their favourite nettle bed does. They've relegated my linnet on field maple and goose and goslings on the lake through the hedge. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.