Lattice Work

It's lovely to spot and then photograph an insect that one has never seen before. Jazzy dog and I were in our disused car park when I caught the flitting of what I thought was a skipperish butterfly out of the corner of my eye. I chased it around and every time it settled, with its wings folded above its body in the manner of a butterfly, it was off again before I could get a shot. Eventually I managed the above when it stopped for a bit longer, spread its wings and I could see that it was a moth.

It's a latticed heath, a member of the Geometridae. This family is so-called because their caterpillars are 'loopers' and appear to be measuring the earth. Evidently this moth is quite common and flies during the day in sunlight and at night. They like waste land and the larvae feed on clover so we have the perfect habitat. :) I've read that they can be confused with dingy skipper butterflies, so I wasn't too far out.

I'd been hoping for a speckled wood butterfly today. I spent some time in Butterfly Alley and managed to shoot one but not with its wings open. I got a peacock (extras) and a holly blue high up in the blackthorn blossom. I also saw orange tips, brimstones and commas. Looking forward to photographing them in the coming weeks.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.