Grass Flower Fly

Backblipping owing to tech issues.

A chilly and dull day so not so good for bug-hunting. I photographed a Nomada cuckoo bee (extras) outside the back door on the Paddy's Pride ivy. I was able to capture it from all sorts of angles as it was rooted to the spot by the cold.

I've chosen a hoverfly as my main pic as it is on a pretty grass flower, which might appeal to those who don't love bugs as much as I do. :) I only got one shot so haven't enough detail to be able to identify it.

Today's poem is Death by Thomas Hood. https://www.poemhunter.com/poem/death-15/

Thomas Hood is November to me, I unfailing recite that poem annually and repeatedly throughout the month, particularly if it is foggy. As for Death, I think we all hope that we will live on after death in the hearts and minds of our loved ones, it would be death to be forgotten. I don't want a grave. I wouldn't want anyone to feel that they were duty-bound to visit it. Sort of a shame as I quite like the idea of the "grass waves" over me complete with the insects that I love.     

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.