Unipedal Resting On A Funny Foot

I blipped this little egret on the evening of 30th April and thought that one of its toes was at an unusual angle. I put it down to the bird having just taken off. I shot the same bird today, in much better light, unipedal resting on the branch of a gum tree. The poor thing has a damaged middle front toe which sticks out straight instead of clasping the perch. It doesn't seem to be bothering it.

I shot my first Roesel's bush cricket nymph of the season and spent ages trying to capture pairs and trios of speckled wood butterflies in flight without complete success. Brimstones and holly blues didn't stop,  green veined whites were quite accommodating and I saw only one orange tip. My chiffchaff provided the rather repetitive soundtrack in Butterfly Alley.    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.