Mind the vine!

Dear Diary,

Things are moving slowly around here but at least they are moving!  David began painting and Greg got the first massive post up.  I needed two 10"X4"X10' posts and you can't go to an ordinary lumber yard for those.  So I just made one phone call and found a man in my town who has a small sawmill and he custom cut the timbers from locally harvested hemlock.  Much of my house reconstruction used local lumber; one of the benefits of living in rural Maine.

I love to photograph hands at work. (I've added an extra photo of my dear friend Dotty crocheting.)  David's hands are never still so capturing his skilled hands painting the new timber on the pergola was nearly impossible.  We'll tie the trumpet vines back up today.  Hopefully it won't be as hot today.  There is so much more gardening to be done and I am feeling useless.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.