Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

I'm so much more than my shadow.

Dear Diary,

This dear little nuthatch and his shadow...got me thinking about how we all have a shadow side. We are so much more than that shadow although we sometimes fixate on it. This shadow tells me his size, the length of his tail, the shape of his beak. It doesn't tell me about his charming habit of hoping down a tree head first, his lovely soft markings or his sweet song.

Yes, we all are so much more than what our shadows say of us. Sometimes it is well to remind ourselves of that. The next time I see a person as their shadow self I will remember this little nuthatch.

"Knowing your own darkness is the best method of dealing with the darknesses of other people." - Carl Jung

Focusing on the good in people...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.