Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Blue

Blue butterflies have been a feature of our visit to West Cumbria, and today I finally managed to get a picture, in the wildflower meadow at Muncaster Castle. I think this one's a Common Blue, but am happy to be advised otherwise.

The sun returned for our final full day in Eskdale, which made strolling around the grounds at Muncaster even more enjoyable. This is another of the places that I remember first coming to when I was small; the family photo album has pictures of me peeping out from behind hedges on the South Terrace.  

The views up the valley toward the high fells were spectacular today, with the group from Scafell Pike across to Crinkle Crags clear of cloud.  Although this holiday has been more about the valleys and the coast for us, the mountains have been an ever present part of our days, and of this landscape.


feeding
on yellow
blue butterfly

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.