Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Audouin's Gull

Menorca Day 2

The first full day of what is my first ever visit to Spain (I'll spare you the week long debate that I had with 8yo as to whether Menorca was "in Spain"). The social mores of pool-based resorts are new to me, particularly the etiquette of reserving sun loungers with towels, but I'm starting to learn.

As an occasional diversion from lounging, I start to explore the green ravines, beaches and headland that surround the complex. There's a small, secluded beach, the approach to which is alive with butterflies, and a larger beach. Both are at the end of narrow rocky inlets. This gull was perched above the larger beach, and at the time I didn't know that it was an Adouin's Gull (Ichthyaetus audouinii), but that's one of the pleasures of sorting through pictures in a more leisurely fashion. It looks like this may qualify as my first addition to the Blip Big Year list too.

Butterfly of the day - a subspecies of Wall Brown.

Bug of the day: Striped Stink Bug.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.