Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

In the Fells

We spent the day in Wasdale, starting with picnic and beach potter near the western end of Wast Water before heading up to Wasdale Head for a short afternoon walk.

We took the short climb up to Lingmell Beck, and from there back to the valley. The serious walkers were all on their descents from the Scafell Massif, but even our short climb gave us a sense of being up in the mountains, as well as great views.

This lamb was one of many that we passed. I'm not sure which crags lie behind, but if anyone recognises the outline let me know, but I think they're some offshoot of Scafell Pike. It's more than thirty years since I climbed that summit and I've lost what capacity I had to recognise all the fell tops and crags from a distance.

It was a good day for wildlife as well: a Yellowhammer and my first Small Heaths of the year along with hundreds of Brown Silver-line moths. Back in Eskdale, a cuckoo is calling.

And a Victorian wall box at Wasdale Head was another bonus.

The rain has set in now and looks like it will dominate tomorrow, but I'm sure we'll find something to entertain ourselves.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.