carliewired

By carliewired

Heading Home for Dinner

A stressful day but
dinner is in the oven.
Please fill my wine glass.

~ carliewired

Done with court proceedings today. No immediate decision. We wait. 

The morning was a little grim. At that point I had no sense that the judge had any concept of the situation. I had that sinking feeling when we dismissed for lunch. 

Our valiant young lawyer worked through his lunch hour and came back with a brilliant summary to impress the judge (and us). It was like seeing a light go on over the judge's head. Suddenly, it seemed to me, the judge appeared to 'wake up' and begin to grasp the concepts that had been presented over Monday and today. 

To the judge's credit, this case began last September and was reconvened just this week. That is a gap of time to 'remember' and he is certainly in our age group. However, it didn't seem to me that he knew anything about the laws and requirements on our industry. 

When we left the courthouse, I felt like I had been bruised and battered. I ached everywhere. 

We returned to the office and then off to the grocery store to gather up the ingredients for dinner. 

The lasagna is in the oven. My wine glass has been filled. I've pushed back my recliner and put my feet up. Ahhhhhhhhh!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.