Leiflife

By Leiflife

The Road Out

Music stands on the road leading out of the family compound. To his right are the path and the driveway leading to my home and studio. To his left is the house my father lived and made art in, and also the cottage once occupied by my mother. Behind my dear old dog is the Shearwater Pottery showroom and the Realizations Silkcreens studio where my father's prints are made. Further down that road is my cousin, Marjorie's house and the Mississippi Sound beyond. Beyond the barrier islands is the Gulf of Mexico. In front of Music is the road out and the world beyond. He is waiting for me to clasp his leash to his collar for our morning walk. Most days we don't go much further then the small park at the end of the road. Still... The road out is the road out.

For extra photos there is the great blue heron on a nest with her babies and a small bird I'm not sure of scavenging for food among dead leaves.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.