THAT'S THAT DONE!

So that's it - pre-op assessment done :

Long form filled in
Blood pressure taken - all normal and fine
Weight and height checked - I am NOT overweight, but under-tall!
BMI worked out - the diet starts soon
MRSA Test done
ECG done - because I am over 60 (but the nurse said I don't look it!)
Specimen - I know, too much information!!
Blood taken - well almost an armful and after much difficulty in locating a suitable vein
Post-it put up in a prominent position (see extra photo)
BUT NO pregnancy test - Mr. HCB told our neighbour this morning that if it was positive he didn't want to know!  What a good job we still have our GSOH!

Couldn't find a parking space at the hospital so I went on in and told the receptionist that my husband would be in later - she asked what he looked like - I said, "Look, we've only been married for 47 years, how should I know!"  A lady in the queue agreed that when you've been married for that long, sometimes you don't remember because you stop looking!

Got chatting to the first nurse when she asked what I did with myself as I was retired!  Showed her my new contact cards, with all my own photographs, told her about blipping and blogging and she was satisfied that I filled my time every day very well!

So - not thinking about next week at the moment, because tomorrow I have a routine mammogram (there will be NO photographs!) and a visit to the dentist, because one of my large fillings fell out at the weekend.

BORED?  Whoever thinks that when they retire, they will be bored?

“Boredom is your mind and 
body’s way of telling you 
you’re not living up to 
your potential.” 
Hal Sparks

P.S.  Interestingly, my knee problems started 55 years ago to the day - on the day that Princess Margaret married Antony Armstrong-Jones - we went on a school outing to the top of Liddington Hill, a local beauty spot, and whilst playing rounders, I fell - and ended up having 3 operations on my left knee.  Guess the right knee has felt "cheated" all this time!

P.P.S.  Met a friend who treated me to lunch - so thank you, Linda!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.