Mucha Window in St Vitus Cathedral

We visited this cathedral in Prague seventeen years ago during the Whatcom Chorale tour. This window has been on my mind ever since I saw it then. I had other photos to choose from but this is the one that most tells the story of our day today.

It was raining in the morning but we bravely ventured out anyhow and headed into Prague. This time we took the subway to a station above the castle. We walked down through the beautiful gardens and ended up at a small restaurant for cappuccino and cake.

Then we went on into the palace center and to this cathedral. We bought tickets to tour the place and walked slowly all around inside. What an amazing building and what fine windows. There are other modern ones and some old ones too.

When we left the church we took a short tour of the castle and then went down Golden Lane, a row of small houses that have housed workers and guests since the Renaissance or before. We explored many of the buildings and then continued our walk down from the castle. The view from there was breath taking. I almost posted my photo of the view as today's blip. If I can, I will post it as an extra photo.

We are now settling down to dinner with our friends back in the campground. The sun is out and it has turned into a beautiful evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.