Happy Bird Day to You

First thank you all so much for the hearts and stars and the wonderful comments on yesterday's heron photo. I am delighted you all liked it. I was thrilled to catch that beautiful bird in flight.

Today my brother Steve joined Ian and me for a day at Semi ah moo. I think I may have mentioned that Ian is largely responsible for my love of birds. He first came here about twelve years ago leading a group of Dutch students to a three week program at the college where I worked. We were his host family and we bonded instantly. We have seen him almost every year since. Ian is an avid birder and it was going out with him that awoke my interest in bird photography.

Today he saw three new birds and we got really close to an osprey who was eating a fish. We saw purple martins, black oyster catchers, long billed curlews, killdeers, spotted towhees, surf scoters and a type of plover he had never seen. What a day. And on his morning walk to our park he saw mating ospreys. He was thrilled. we all had a great day together.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.