Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Voting...and Alexander McQueen

I took Luke to vote this morning, his first election! It was all very quiet and rather boring - he said to me, is this it? I think the results will be more exciting, although the thought of another coalition government is not very exciting.

Then I went to London to see the Alexander McQueen exhibition at the V&A. I know many of you have seen it - it has been hailed as one of the most exciting exhibitions to come to London (it came from the Met in New York). It is fascinating - exciting? Not sure, extremely creative, weird and rather dark. And was that real human hair, real crocodile heads and real antelope horns that were used to adorn the garments? Feathers that are gold painted, silk with beautiful Swarovski crystals, even a dress of razor clam shells. It is unlike anything I have ever seen before, and his creations are surely not designed to be worn but rather to be displayed like a work of art. I am guessing much of that creativity was chemically fuelled, it is so off the wall. But amazing, and I recommend seeing it.

I think he was very troubled, and as no photos were allowed I rather liked this poster shot of the exhibition (of the model Magdalena Frackowiak wearing a duck feather dress) which is back lit from the shop behind it where a man was standing - symbolic of the man behind the mask, as it were, a troubled man or a creative genius?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.