Obelisk

This obelisk is in the middle of a road and next to the Glentanar pub which I used to frequent most weekends before going over the road for a pizza. The pizzeria changed hands so I stopped going, and hence also stopped going to the pub.

Originally I thought this obelisk was just street decoration, then that it was a ventilation shaft for a drain. Looking it up this afternoon I see that it was actually the ventilation shaft for a tunnel that used to carry electric cables. In todays environment I think my original idea was correct, it is a piece of street decoration.

This is not part of my street photography project, though perhaps it qualifies. Instead I was on a walk to boost my steps for the day, which otherwise would not have amounted to much.

Had a fairly late night as I stayed up to watch some of the election coverage. I went to bed when the result was clearly going to be in line with the BBC's exit poll. I think the BBC announced the result of the poll at about 10 minutes after the polling stations closed, and not much changed thereafter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.