The amaryllis flower's last days

I wanted to show the detail of the flower of the amaryllis plant I have grown for the last few years.  I noticed yesterday that the four flowers which appear at the top of the long thick stem were beginning to wither.  So tis afternoon I took the plant out to the cabin where I could set up my tripod  and proceeded to try to capture the intricate detail of the anthers, stamens and pollen set against the red and white of the petals. 

I am always pleased to see these flowers appear because they seem to mark the beginning of proper springtime.  But after a few weeks they seem to be a bit domineering and I am quite pleased that they wither and recede into their bulb for another year. If you don't know these flowers, each of the four flower heads on the one stalk is about six inches in diameter.

Plenty of other flowers are appearing already.  I want to record my annual blip of the delightful tiny red flowers of my pelargonium ardens which is blooming better than ever this year.  Whatever I did to it this winter was the right way to treat it.  My problem is I can't remember whether it was keeping it dry, or warm or the way I pruned it last autumn.  I shall just have to do what seems best once again later this year.  The same will be true for this amaryllis.  I shall do my best.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.