The parish election count

The election count for the parish wards was delayed until this morning. All the parishes or wards of the town which needed an election to decide on who would be councillors were being counted here through the electoral office of Stroud District Council. 

I had been in two minds about standing again for another four year term, but eventually decided to do so. As it happened I needn't have bothered as the electorate decided they didn't want me back which somehow I wasn't surprised about. Electors don't seem to take notice of what councillors actually do after they vote for them and by the comments of my fellow councillors and the officers I have been one of the more active and committed ones in the last few years.

I had some kind comments from colleagues who were quite surprised and I will miss some of them a great deal.  But I'll stay involved in some aspects of town life where I think my energies can be best employed, in a voluntary capacity of course.

Tonight I went to a strategy meeting of the Preservation Trust which I found really valuable and I came away with a renewed sense of purpose about what we can achieve. The road continues, new opportunities are coming and there is no looking back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.