CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

A profusion of puffballs

I dropped Helena in town so that she could do a bit of special shopping and then I drove up onto Minchinhampton Common to get the wind in my face. I hoped to see and hear some skylarks again and took my camera gear and a hat to keep the sun off my head.

I walked a few hundred yards from the parking area I normally visit and was surprised that I couldn't see any skylarks despite hearing them singing away as usual high in the sky above me. I stood still for quite a while, listening and looking all around me, enjoying the sun and the classic scene on the common with people in a playful mood. 

Eventually I spotted a skylark coming in to land and stopping its song abruptly. I slowly walked towards it and managed to get reasonably close before it flew away again.  I did get pictures (see one in the 'Extra photos'), but I really wanted to get a good shot of it in flight which is quite hard. I wandered again and suddenly spotted half a dozen at once all flying around each other before ascending high in the sky again.

Whilst walking about I couldn't resist snapping the cowslips and rare purple orchids that populate this native limestone grassland which the National Trust, which owns the Common, encourages as an area of Special Scientific Interest, an SSSI.  There was a carpet of yellow buttercups, dandelions, cowslips and other plants as well as the orchids. I noticed that there were still no cows or horses grazing and I expect they will be released as usual in the middle of May so that the wild flowers will all be eaten or trampled. I will return soon with my macro lens to get a proper shot of the orchids.

By a path of orchids and cowslips I saw a few of this type of puffballs which seemed to have just appeared. I love eating puffballs fried in steaks in olive oil, but I'm a bit nervous of eating unidentified types of fungi, so didn't pick them today. Maybe another time I will bring John W. up here and get his advice, as he is a rather expert botanist.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.