CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

David Drew, Labour candidate, Stroud constituency

Following on from my previous blip, which I photographed just before midnight at the General Election count for Stroud constituency, here is a picture taken about an hour later.

I was on my way home as I couldn't stay up through the night to see the result declared as it wasn't expected to be until about 4am.  I had to catch a train at 9am for a very important meeting in Swindon.  I left the main floor of the leisure centre where the count was under way and climbed up to the balcony where the main exit was located.

I spotted David Drew leaning over the balcony watching the proceedings below.  I think it is quite traditional for candidates to arrive close to the result being declared.  I went over to David to said hello and asked if I could take his picture and he kindly obliged, turning round towards me so I could get this image.  His agent who was beside him said he was feeling quite ill, so it was kind of him to allow me to take the picture.

I wished him good luck and then left the area and headed home.  When Helena woke me this morning she told me that David had lost and that the incumbent conservative had got back in, which I was shocked to hear.  I really thought the good will around David who has been a terrific local politician would ensure he was re-elected, but it wasn't to be on this strange election day.  I am very upset about it.  I learnt later in the morning that David had resigned from politics for good, which will be a great loss to our local community.  Thanks David for all your good works.    It seems strange that this will be one of the last public photos of him.

I have just found that my friend, Daily Keith, has blipped a shot from just after the result was declared.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.