A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

We have a little Oak tree ...

..and yes it did literally grow from an acorn.

We used to have a massive Oak tree over hanging from the house across the wall at the bottom of the garden. In fact it pushed the wall down soon after we moved in here over 30 years ago but it was cut down by the present owner some years ago. Afterwards there was a mass of seedlings sprouting all over the garden and this is the one we allowed to grow to replace the original.
It is about twice my height now and I went up to the back of the garden to check on its leaf growth. It is one of the things to look out for on the BBC Spring Watch list tracking the progress of spring across the country.  The leaf has to be full grown before you register it and as you can see these aren't yet.

They are a great colour adding that russet hue in the woodland canopy at the moment. I chose this shot as I like the way the veins show up with the back lighting.

Haven't done any more painting today after church as I seem to have pulled a muscle in my calf. Fine when I'm just walking but not brilliant up and down steps or kneeling!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.